:: Online Texas Real Estate Salesperson Program—FAQs

Online Texas Real Estate Salesperson Program—FAQs

Online Texas Real Estate Salesperson Prelicensing Program FAQ

What is the governing body for Texas Real Estate?

The governing body for Texas Real Estate and Continuing Education is the Texas Real Estate Commission, www.trec.state.tx.us

What are the requirements for obtaining a Salesperson License in Texas?

Requirements to Obtain a Salesperson License:

An individual must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, eighteen (18) years of age or older and a legal resident of Texas.

Have successfully completed 180 hours of required education including:

  • Real Estate Principles (60 classroom hours)
  • Law of Agency (30 classroom hours)
  • Law of Contracts (30 classroom hours)
  • Promulgated Contracts Forms (30 classroom hours)
  • Real Estate Finance (30 classroom hours). (Related course credit may no longer be used to meet education requirements for a salespersons license).

For additional requirements and process please visit www.trec.state.tx.us

How fast can I get my Texas Real Estate License?

The entire process from education to licensing can take approximately three to four months. The education portion will depend on the amount of hours you spend studying and completing the course with the minimum grade of 70% on the course exam.

What courses should I complete to get started in Texas Real Estate?

The following 180 hours of education must include:

  • 30 hours in Real Estate Principles I (#0111)
  • 30 hours in Real Estate Principles II (#0112)
  • 30 hours in Law of Agency (#1111)
  • 30 hours in Law of Contracts (#1200)
  • 30 hours in Promulgated Contract Forms (#0322)
  • 30 hours in Real Estate Finance (#0411)

Once I register for a class, how soon will I be able to begin it?

PDC enters registrations and payments during normal UT business hours: 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday (Central Time Zone). They are processed in the order received and may take up to 24-48 business hours. Once they're processed, you will receive an email with your course access information.

Who assigns my login and password?

Once your registrations and payments are entered, we notify the Dearborn REcampus that you are approved to begin classes. At that time, REcampus assigns your login and password to you.

What if I have technical questions or experience problems?

There is 24/7 technical support available to you. Call 888-213-5124, or e-mail REtechsupport@dearborn.com.

Are there any books or exam prep materials available for purchase?

The Law of Contracts course and Promulgated Forms course includes a book. For the remaining courses, you may purchase books or e-books specific to that course at an additional cost to you. This can be done from the bookstore in REcampus when you log-in.

Can I get a refund on a class or on materials?

There are no refunds for online classes and any materials purchased.

How long do I have to complete a course?

A student’s access to any single online course enrollment begins immediately after purchase and lasts for 12 months. You have a 12-month period to complete a course. The 12-month period begins the day PDC processes your registration, not the day you first begin the course. The Texas Real Estate Commission Ethics and Legal Update MCE are updated every two years. Towards the end of each term, the length of time these 3-hour classes are available will be reduced.

How do I receive an extension to complete the course?

The original 12-month period may be extended up to six months, to accommodate extenuating circumstances that prevent students from completing courses during the initial 12-month access period.

If you need more than the original 12 months to complete a course, print and complete the Course Extension form and send it to us via fax at (512) 232-6126 or as a scanned document to pdc@austin.utexas.edu. You may include your payment information on the form or request that we call you for credit card information.

If you realize during the 12-month enrollment period that you will need more time to complete a course, you can request a monthly extension for a charge of $25 per month per course. You must also complete and submit the Course Extension form.

Student access to online courses shall NOT exceed an 18-month period no matter the circumstances. If a 30-day extension to the 12-month period is needed, students must request this extension no later than the last day of the original enrollment period (that is, no more than 364 days after a course registration is processed). No extensions that would exceed the 18-month period will be granted.

In addition, a student’s access to any single online, stand-alone exam shall not exceed 30 days.

Courses cannot be extended after they have expired. If you have multiple classes that need to be extended you must extend all prior to the expiration date. If you do not complete an extended course prior to the new expiration date you will need to extend and pay the $25 fee again however you cannot extend past 18-months. You must also complete the Course Extension form.

What is the "24 hour MCE Rule"?

As of September 1, 2007, a licensee who takes an online MCE course will not be allowed to complete an online course in less than 24 hours. If a licensee has paid their renewal fee and begins an online MCE course for renewal purposes on the day their license expires, credit will not be awarded for completing the course on that day (regardless of how many hours credit the course awards). If this occurs, the licensee's MCE will be considered late and a $200 Late MCE penalty fee will be assessed.

Is it easy to print the material from the courses online?

Written material can be "print screened." However, since each page of the reading material contains one or two paragraphs, printing chapters (approximately 25-50 pages each) can be paper intensive. The exercises are interactive and therefore may not print a useable page. There may be site restrictions on the test questions, which may result in a blank page if you try to print them. You cannot print test questions from either chapter tests or final exams.

How long may I take to complete a course?

You are allowed one year from the time you receive your password to complete a course.

Who informs TREC that I completed an MCE course?

After completing the course requirements, you will receive an e-mail with a link to TREC's Alternative Instructional Methods Reporting Form. Complete the form, and fax it to the UT administrator, who will then fax the form to TREC.

Is there a grade provided for each course?

Yes, you must complete each course and earn a 70% on the course exam.

Does this class qualify for college course credit? Will this be added to my UT transcript? Do I have to be a UT student to enroll in this program?

PDC's Real Estate Salesperson courses are noncredit and do not appear on a UT transcript. You do not need to be admitted to UT to be able to enroll in these programs.

Are your Texas Real Estate courses accredited?

The online real estate courses are not accredited, which means they do not transfer to the college level. But, they are fully approved for real estate licensing in the state of Texas.

When will I receive my certificate?

An e-certificate will be emailed to you within 3-5 business days. If you need your certificate sooner please contact the Program Coordinator at pdconline@austin.utexas.edu

What is the cost to get licensed as a real estate agent in Texas?

The education cost with The University of Texas at Austin, PDC varies from $855.00 to $1029.00. When purchasing the courses in a package you receive additional savings.

There are also fees applied when filing your application through TREC. Please visit the TREC website for complete details, www.trec.state.tx.us

  • Original Application: $163.00
  • License Application Fee: $143.00
  • Background check: $31.50
  • Finger printing: $31.50
  • Recovery Trust Account: $10.00

Do you offer financial assistance?

Unfortunately, we do not offer financial assistance.

Do you honor the Airforce Tuition Assistance or MyCAA?

Yes, we can help but we need more information from you. If you are active military or spouse, please contact the Program Coordinator at pdconline@austin.utexas.edu

Who informs TREC that I completed an SAE and/or Prelicensing course?

The student is responsible for sending TREC the certificate earned from an SAE or Prelicensing course as proof of course completion.

How do I know if the quality of the courses is good?

In addition to satisfying requirements established by the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC), PDC's real estate salesperson courses are ARELLO approved. ARELLO is the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, "comprising the official governmental agencies and other organizations around the world that issue real estate licenses/registrations in addition to regulating real estate practice and enforcing real estate law."

The TREC Web site does not reflect my renewal. Can you contact them for me and get this resolved?

There are periods when TREC receives a high volume of faxes, and it therefore takes a few days for all renewals to be posted. If, after a week or so, the renewal is not posted, we can contact TREC.

Who gives me the exam that will get me my salesperson license?

Effective September 2, 2014, Pearson VUE will be administering the exam for TREC as TREC changed its testing center partnership from PSI to Pearson VUE. Testing is not available through UT Austin or The Professional Development Center.

Please note the following.

  • Students taking the Real Estate Exam on or after Sept 2, 2014 should contact Pearson VUE and begin scheduling exam appointments. Please visit www.pearsonvue.com. The site contains specific information about testing for a Texas Real Estate Salesperson or broker license. You can register for your exam, find test information or download the handbook from this page.
  • The Real Estate Exams are offered in two portions; State and National. If an applicant passes one Exam through PSI and fails the other, the failed portion will need to be passed through Pearson VUE. Both portions will not be required to be passed through Pearson VUE.
  • Students enrolled in the PSI Qbank will be transferred at no cost to the Pearson VUE Qbank through PDC. Students will have access to the Pearson Qbank with the original expiration date provided with the PSI Qbank.
  • For additional questions, please contact the Program Coordinator at 512-471-2354.

    Where are the Texas Real Estate Exam locations?

    Pearson VUE will administer the TREC exams through its existing test center network in Texas, giving candidates the choice of 19 locations throughout the state, while also offering the convenience of booking and re-scheduling tests when you choose. Fore more information on a location nearest you or testing accommodations, please visit www.pearsonvue.com.

    What happens if I fail the Texas Real Estate Commission real estate exam?

    If you fail the exam on your first attempt, you can retake the Texas state real estate exam by paying the exam fee again.

    The University of Texas at Austin is closed for the following holidays:

    PDC understands that you may have a goal in mind to complete your courses in order to apply for the Texas Real Estate Licensure exam or to submit your forms for renewal of your license. As you take and complete your courses please plan accordingly. The following are observed closures at The University of Texas at Austin.

    • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
    • Memorial Day
    • Independence Day
    • Labor Day
    • Thanksgiving Day and the day after Thanksgiving
    • Winter Break, December 23rd - January 1st

top of page